For the first time in MLB history, all 15 home teams won

Baseball has always been a sport that relies heavily on statistics. Fans will memorize a player’s career batting average, or how many runs that specific player plated in 1963.

Occasionally, even the most stat-savvy fans run into something that completely blows their mind. This is one of those instances.

So, yeah, we’re a little speechless here.

Baseball had 16 teams up until 1961. That season, Los Angeles and Washington received clubs. Houston and the Mets joined the league the following year. In 1969, Kansas City, Seattle, Montreal and San Diego all received franchises. That increased the chance of the record being tied or broken, but it never happened. Baseball would continue to expand, of course, giving us 30 teams today.

From 1914 until Tuesday, that record stood, even though a number of teams have been added to the mix since. That’s incredible. We here at The Stew have done the math, and it turns out a ton of games have been played since 1961 without this ever happening!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: